I just resigned… time to buy a bespoke suit?

James Bond 

I’ve now officially resigned having given my resignation letter to my boss today. This was actually the first resignation letter that I had ever written so I turned to the internet to look at some samples. I was disappointment to find that there was very little variety to choose from, but then I thought “Do I really care?” The answer was no. So I copied and pasted the shortest one I could find and handed it in.

Anyways, on the tube home I read an interview in the paper with a guy that started a business called A Suit that Fits which makes bespoke suits at a fraction of the price of other established tailors such as those on Saville Row. I’ve looked at bespoke suits in the past and they cost around £1,000 – 2,500 (CDN2,300 – 5,750), I’ve put it off in the past as I’ve wanted to get into better shape before I get measured. My thought process was that if I’m going to spend that type of money I want it to still fit in the future – and I plan on staying fit.

To give you some idea of the difference in price, I went through the process of creating a suit on their website, usually choosing the more expensive options and the price only came out to be £280 (CDN644). The price difference is huge and of course the only thing that matters is the quality of the fabric and tailoring. At this price I am extremely skeptical, but I do need a new blue suit… and the price is so low… it’s tempting to just roll the dice and see what I get.

I also think its an interesting business idea – if they can actually deliver what they promise (high quality tailored suits to the masses). I wonder how well the idea would export to North America, one of the founders did say he’d like to launch in New York. How about Toronto?

3 Responses to I just resigned… time to buy a bespoke suit?

  1. Sally says:

    Hey, congratulations on resigning! I admire you. As a matter of fact I have tried to steer clear of getting a regular job because I knew I would just hate it. I prefer the outdoors type of life riding my horse. Funny that you should mention a bespoke suit because my dad owns a tailoring business in Mayfair London. I think his suits are more reasonable than what you mentioned for Savile Row people. His shop is called Orri, take a look at it and let me know what you think.

  2. Thanks Sally! If not a regular job then what do you do?

    I checked out Orri’s website – the website says its on Saville row – which is pretty impresive. Has your dad been tailoring his whole life? The website says £1300 – £1800 which is still pretty expensive (especially for the unemployed) but I still think worth it. Someday…

  3. Sally says:

    Hey sorry for not replying sooner, but thanks for replying to my comment. Okay what do I do? Well I just finished university, and then got a job at American Express, the hours were flexible which really suited me because I like to ride my horse about 2 to 3 hours a day. I say ‘were’ because I have left there now. I am going to stay with my brother for the whole summer in Birmingham then in September I hope to start working for the British Embassy. Oh and I asked my dad and he says he will give you a 50% discount for a suit.

Leave a Reply

